Ukraine: law on the introduction of martial law in 10 oblasts came into effect




On November 28, the special issue of the newspaper "Holos Ukrayiny" published the Decree of the President of Ukraine "On the Introduction of Martial Law in Ukraine" and the law adopted by the Verkhovna Rada on approval of the Decree, informed the web-site of the newspaper.

According to the Decree, the martial law regime started from 14:00 on November 26, and will be in effect for 30 days.

At the same time, the law adopted by the Verkhovna Rada specified that the martial law will not cover the whole territory of Ukraine, but only the oblasts which are directly bordering the Russian Federation (Donetsk, Luhansk, Kharkiv, Sumy and Chernihiv oblasts), located on the coast of the Black and Azov Seas (Odessa, Mykolaiv, Zaporizhia and Kherson oblasts), as well as inland waters of the Azov-Kerch area, and also Vinnytsia oblast bordering the unrecognised Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic.

Also, in the period of martial law the Head of State has the right to declare partial mobilization of military personnel in terms and volume according to the threats to the national security and defense of Ukraine, as well as local authorities in the reporting regions are authorized with additional powers necessary to ensure the national security.

The documents do not include any specific instructions regarding the possible restrictions of the constitutional rights and freedoms of citizens of Ukraine in the martial law period.