Visa support


In order to move into the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan, one shall have a valid foreign travel passport and visa, issued by Kazakh consular offices abroad. The visa specifies Your duration time in Kazakhstan, and if appropriate, the internal affairs agencies (internal affairs agencies of oblasts, Astana, Almaty, at the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Kazakhstan) can prolong the validity of visa, with exception of tourist visas. Unauthorized corrections of the validity of visas, as well as unauthorized writing of children in the visa, are prohibited, and shall involve penalties and expulsion outside the country`s territory!


In the case of entry into the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan through the territory of a third country, one should timely inquire about the need to obtain a transit visa at a foreign mission of the relevant country.


Citizens of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the United Kingdom, Hungary, Greece, Denmark, Israel, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, the United Arab Emirates, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Sultanate of Oman, the USA, Finland, France, Germany, Croatia, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia and Japan do not require an invitation from the Republic of Kazakhstan, for receiving of a single entry visa in the Kazakh consular offices abroad, as well as a double entry tourist visa.


Business and service visas, which permit double, three-time and multiple entry and departure from the territory of Kazakhstan, shall be issued only on the basis of an invitation by the Kazakh party and the relevant confirmation with assignment of the registry number (visa support) by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan.


According to the Decree of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan #483 dd. 26.06.2015, citizens of 19 countries are unilaterally authorized for visa-free entry to Kazakhstan in 2017, for a period of 15 days. The list of countries:

  • Australia,
  • Hungary,
  • Italy,
  • Monaco,
  • Belgium,
  • Spain,
  • Netherlands,
  • Norway,
  • Sweden,
  • Malaysia,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • Singapore,
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,
  • USA,
  • Germany,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Switzerland,
  • Japan.


In the period from July 16, 2015, until December 31, 2017, citizens of the reporting countries can enter the Republic of Kazakhstan and leave the country without visas, if the period of their stay in Kazakhstan does not exceed 15 days net after crossing the state border of the Republic of Kazakhstan.


The officials shall register foreign citizens of the specified countries at their entry to the Republic of Kazakhstan at the Kazakh border checkpoints which are open to internal passenger traffic.

In case of development of a reasonable necessity for further remaining of investors and businessmen from the above-mentioned countries on the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan for more than 15 days, one shall be indicated to receive a visa of "business" category in the internal affairs agencies of Kazakhstan, and a visa of "investor" category - in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan, in accordance with the procedure established by law.

During their visiting the Republic of Kazakhstan, foreign citizens of the specified countries do not have the right to engage in any employment, missionary or other gainful activities in accordance with the law of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

In order to increase the country's investment and touristic attractiveness, and easing the entry of foreign visitors, since January 1, 2017, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan settled to expand the list of countries with a visa-free access to Kazakhstan for up to 30 days for the following countries:

  • the United Arab Emirates,
  • Malaysia,
  • Singapore,
  • Monaco,

and the OECD countries (the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development), 35 countries: the USA, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Germany, Greece, Denmark, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, South Korea, Latvia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, the UK, Finland, France, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia.

To date, the official entities of Kazakhstan provide harmonization works to include further five countries to the list: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Lithuania, Malta and Romania.